virginnoob.blogg.se

Greco stratocaster images
Greco stratocaster images










Greco guitars are now readily available, sold by Japanese shops on ebay, Reverb, and other sites. The factory that made Greco also made Ibanez, which was widely distributed around the world. Greco made copies of more guitars than any other brand, all very high quality.

greco stratocaster images

This has made Greco the vintage Japanese guitar of choice for collectors. This meant they were less concerned with copy right issues, and because of the small market, the production numbers are fairly low. It wasn't long before they were as good as the real thing, but most people would not know this because Greco was sold only in Japan- they were not exported at all. By the early 1970's Greco got serious and the telecaster, stratocaster, and Les Paul copies were really good quality instruments. These came out in 1967, then came a copy of a Hofner Beatle Bass, then a copy of a Gibson Les Paul, although it had a bolt on neck.

greco stratocaster images

The first attempt at making a copy of the American brands was an oddly shaped telecaster guitar, the KF-190. GRECO is a brand of guitar that started production around 1960, they were made in Japan at the FujiGen and Matsumoku factories. The guitar was sold to a Japanese businessman and remains on display (not for sale) today at one of the guitar stores in Tokyo’s famed Ochinomizu guitar store district." Green bought the guitar and brought it back to George Gruhn, who immediately chastised Green for buying such an obvious fake. While back home in Michigan, Green spotted a guitar in the window of Ann Arbor Music store that he thought resembled the collectible Flying V and Explorer guitars. After doing some work on the odd guitar to make it sellable, Erlewine sold it to Ann Arbor Music in downtown Ann Arbor.ĭoug Green, now known as “Ranger Doug” from the group Riders In The Sky, was a University of Michigan graduate who moved to Nashville and became one of George Gruhn’s early employees. The seller told Erlewine that he got the guitar from his father who had the Melody Maker neck installed at the factory in Kalamazoo. This was in the earliest days of vintage guitar collecting knowledge, and Erlewine claims that he thought it was just an Explorer at the time. Noted luthier and shop owner Dan Erlewine bought a guitar that had a Moderne body, a replaced Melody Maker neck, and a crude black refinished paint job. "In the late 1960s, a funky guitar believed to be at least part of a Moderne surfaced at a shop in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

greco stratocaster images

So the picture is a genuine 1958 Mick holding a genuine 1959 Gibson Les Paul Burst plugged into a genuine 1958 Fender Deluxe Tweed with custom extension cabinet that I just bought! This was definately the coolest experience at a guitarshop that I have ever had! When I started talking to the sales gal the owner walked up and asked if I was the guy who sent that email, apparently it made him laugh, he agreed to my terms and I got a picture holding a different '59 Les Paul $347,500 guitar! That amp was built in June 1958, I was born June 7, 1958. I did not hear back, decided to stop by the store anyway.

Greco stratocaster images plus#

Later that night I emailed the store and said "Hi this is Mick whose car got towed, I will buy that amp under these terms: The price we discussed plus I want a picture of me holding that 1959 Gibson Les Paul Burst plugged into that amp, text me back and I'll come by and seal the deal". Three hours of my life I will never get back later I had my car just in time for a dinner meeting. I went outside and around the corner and my car was gone. I tried it out, and about two hours later decided I wanted it, but I got a nagging feeling I should check on my car. They had a beautiful 1959 Gibson Les Paul Burst, slightly out of my price range, but then I spied a 1958 Fender Deluxe Tweed just like Neil Young uses and this one even had an extension cabinet.

greco stratocaster images

I was in Seattle 4-9-2019 on business, took a slight diversion to Emerald City Guitars, a well known vintage dealer.










Greco stratocaster images